A Leap Of Faith…

Reviewing the Triton web site this week, one of the things I looked at was the company history, which basically read as a CV of everything I’d done. I suppose like most people I am proud of the positives I have achieved in my life, and – like most people – want to brush over the not so positive parts and those periods that could be deemed to be a failure. I wanted to include Lucy and the benefits she brings to the company, so details of my experience gained in the Royal Air Force, knowledge of licensed retail management and exploits doing Fishery Protection for the UK Government didn’t really sit well with what we are now trying to achieve. I therefore stripped things right down and made the information brief, and more importantly, relevant. It wasn’t a case of closing the door on the past, but more a look towards the future.

The idea of Triton was built on my ideas and experience; however a company is a sum of its parts. For all my experience, Lucy brings a fresh perspective which has proved to be a real positive. She has brought a certain amount of inspiration, which in turn has actually energised me to do things, which, truth be told, I knew needed doing, I just hadn’t got round to doing them yet. They say a builder’s house is the last to be finished and the same could have been said for my own marketing and promotion. In reality having full time work and running web sites as a side-line was enough two years ago. I didn’t need to market the business, the word-of-mouth ‘trade’ was enough to keep me busy. Now, fully reliant on my own endeavours, a different story. The statement, ‘how can you prove you can promote and market other people’s businesses when your own marketing leaves a little to be desired’ was a factor in the commencement of this blog, it does however, appear to be taking a life of it’s own.

On the web site, I used the phrase ‘a leap of faith’ in reference to Lucy embarking on her travels around the world over two and a half years ago. She didn’t know what to expect, it was a step into the unknown, and a brave one at that. People tend to stay with what they know. They can hate their work, moaning about the unfairness of life, but if you suggest ‘well change it, do something different’ the thought of moving out of what is effectively a comfort zone is terrifying for them and they would rather ‘stick still’ than take a risk. Personally….. well, sometimes you just have to take a risk. I am not talking the reckless ‘seat of your pants’ type of risk. I am talking the calculated pros and cons, 50-50 this could go horribly wrong, but you never know unless you try type of risk. This is exactly what she did, and something she should be very proud of.

For a small business taking on a employee is a big step, with so many CV’s how do you select the right person for the job? That’s easy, discount all the people who didn’t go to University straight away….. hmm, somehow I don’t think so. For starters I would have to class myself as not being a suitable candidate for working for my own company and that would never do! So how do you select the best person for the job? Well….. I’m not sure that I really know. I understand the need for some form of filter criteria, but surely, make it a little more interesting than did the person attend university or not! Do they need to have experience of the job in hand? Yes in some instances. However what my experience has shown is that people grow into a role taking ownership of the job in hand and to be honest, if you are going to spend what is potentially a third of your working day with someone, surely it’s got to be someone with a bit of spark and gumption who is prepared to work outside their comfort zone.

To move any business forward you have to take on employees and grow. Was taking Lucy on a risk? Of course it was, but sometimes you have to take a leap of faith….

“Do not pray for tasks equal to your powers. Pray for powers equal to your tasks” Phillips Brooks

